Read

the book thief

Book Thief

I originally picked up this book in 2006, which is crazy, since it simultaneously feels like yesterday and forever ago. I had heard amazing things about it so when I found it on sale at Marshall’s I grabbed it. I got through about 2 chapters before giving up – its a book about the Holocaust and it’s written from Death’s viewpoint and, honestly, it was just too deep for my sleep-until-noon-college-frat-party brain. Not that its necessarily deep [I guess I was just that shallow…] but its certainly a serious book and I recommend being in the mood for serious when deciding to read it. The thing that turned me away from the book in 2007, being written by Death, as though he’s a person, became the thing I enjoyed most. I appreciate the challenge that went into writing from that point of view and, let me tell you, Markus Zusak nailed it. Make time for this one, it’s worth it.

Talk to me!

