Read

summer reading list

summer 13 classics 2I mentioned last week  that I bought a new bookshelf for the main living area downstairs. I spent a long time deciding which books were going to be make the cut. I didn’t want to over-power the bookshelf, and of course I needed to have room for decorating as well, but I wanted to make sure my absolute favorites were represented. The problem with favorites is that because they get read over and over again the covers get banged up and the pages get food on them and the bindings fall apart. So while my originals are safely tucked away in my upstairs wine crates [the only proper way to store books, as shown here] I purchased brand new copies for display downstairs. My first weekend book review of all time was a summer 2012 “summer classics” recommendation and since I’ve been feeling nostalgic this week, surrounding Once is Enough’s first birthday, I decided to create 2013 summer reading list as well. Here are [some of] my all-time favorite books, and the ones I deemed most important to make the largely coveted spot on the downstairs bookshelf. How many have you read? I strongly recommend each and every one.

Dr. Seuss – Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?

Maurice Sendak – Where the Wild Things Are

Shel Silverstein – Where the Sidewalk Ends

Natale Babbit – Tuck Everlasting

Katherine Paterson – Bridge to Terabithia

J.D. Salinger – The Cather in the Rye (#1 all-time favorite, right here)

William Golding – Lord of the Flies

Betty Smith – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

Emily Bronte – Wuthering Heights

summer 13 classics 3

summer 13 classics 4 summer 13 classics

Talk to me!

