Laugh

jersey, and germany

A few weeks ago, I took a road trip with my brother to Wisconsin. It’s true, what they say about the midwest – everyone is crazy friendly and for two people born-and-bred in jersey there was something oddly unsettling by it. One funny story that came from the trip is when we experienced an identical situation in two very different area’s. Some car cut us off on a major highway in Wisco [44..or 49..or 45. Wisconsin loves to name it’s highways in the 40s]. My brother laid on the horn, of course, and the driver immediately pulls into the other lane, drives along side us, and apologizes profusely through the window. Fast forward three days and we again get cut off, this time in Jersey, right after crossing the Ben Franklin. Again we honk the horn, only this time the driver sticks his middle finger out the window, slams on his breaks, and proceeds to drive no faster than 20 miles an hour for the next 10 minutes until finally we have the opportunity to pass him.

I never really believed in this whole “northeast rudeness” thing that people from other area’s of the country talk about but in that moment, I got it. Because I wasn’t even upset about the guy from Jersey. Honestly, I would have done the same thing. I cut you off? Deal with it. Don’t make a huge scene with the horn honking and such. The guy from Wisconsin’s reaction baffles me. You cut me off, you didn’t kill my dog. Relax with the apologies. Throw a finger out the window, and tell me to move on with my life.

I came across this video a few weeks ago. It takes place in Germany and…well, it looks like us in the New York/New Jersey area would fit in quite well in Germany, to say the least. [Important fact to note: the grey car’s windows are open.] Enjoy =)

Talk to me!

