Laugh

christmas list

Family traditions during this time of year are so intriguing to me. Just the way the same holiday gets viewed by different people is so fascinating. Last year I wrote this post about Santa Claus. Luckily, I don’t plan to have children any time soon because I’m still not sure where I fall on the keeping with the tradition of Santa vs. lying to your children spectrum. My sister (who is now 11) technically still believes but is at the stage where she constantly questions, particularly regarding the technicalities of Elf of a Shelf. I have to say, I feel like a bad person lying to her every time she asks, and I’m pretty sure her adolescent, hormonal self in a year or two when she does realize is going to be really angry. I sure as hell would be. I have no memory of figuring out Santa wasn’t real but I also didn’t straight-up ever ask anybody either. Can you really say “yes, of course” when your kid straight up asks you “Is Santa real?”. And if you can how is that any different than when, a few years later, your kid says “yes, of course his parents will be home mom”? A lie is a lie is a lie, after all.

Luckily, some parents out there seem to have it all figured out. Like Drew Magary, the writer of this now-famous blog entry. If you still somehow haven’t read it, take a minute. It’s well worth it. He had me laughing out loud, something I rarely do while reading. The best part was the responses from other parents submitting their children’s Christmas lists. God, I was really a boring child. Because these kids are funny. All photo’s courtesy of deadspin.com – I only wish I had kids this funny in my life.

Xmas List 1-3 A poop sandwich. With a star. Ok. Xmas List 1-4oh, one million pieces of shrimp? done  Xmas List 1-6 Right. On it.

Talk to me!

