Read

seal snipers, man

Sniper 1sniper 2I kinda pride myself on staying pretty non-dramatic when I’m sick. I’m good for quite a few sinus infections each year, have been for as long as I can remember. It’s gotten to the point where I pretty much know the warning signs that it’s coming and I start damage control right away: chugging EmergenC, snorting up on the netipot twice daily, and call my doctor for my antibiotic. My doctor and I have an agreement, and she see’s my charts anyway – you can set a clock by my sinus infections. Usually. Apparently 2014 is all about change, which could be great, really, except not when it’s about my sinus infections.

The one good thing in all of this is that I’ve had the opportunity to read A. LOT. in the past few days. Lone Survivor and American Sniper came to me recommended by a friend in the navy. I have great respect for the men and women who serve in our military, and appreciate the time they spend away from loved ones fighting to maintain our freedom, yet I’m not really into any of the many books or movies about them. Past tense. I wasn’t really into any of the books or movies. These two books, both first hand accounts from SEALS who went through their training prior to 9/11 and completed a combined seven tours [that’s s-e-v-e-n, although it might be eight. I honestly lost count] in Iraq and Afghanistan, will knock you off your feet: both in awe of this superhuman division of the navy and in fear of the special kind of monsters our loved ones overseas are facing.

If you really want to have a full circle moment, read I am Malala [last weeks book review, here] first, then Lone Survivor, and finally, American Sniper. The Pashtuns, an ethnic group found in Pakistan and Afghanistan, serve a major role in the Lone Survivor and I am Malala gives an insider look into these people, as Malala and her family are Pashtuns. Buy the books here, here, and here

 

Talk to me!

